How To Manage Users and Groups

From Userful Support
Jump to: navigation, search


Copyright © 2018 Userful Corporation. All rights reserved.
(Updated 2018.01.30)

To return to the main documentation page, Click Here.


Introduction

With Userful™ software appliance, several users can be logged on to the Userful host at the same time. Each user has a unique username, password, and home directory. In addition, users can have different system privileges (meaning they can have more or less control over the system) and those users can be assigned groups.

This document explains how to manage users, groups, and permissions.

Adding, Editing and Deleting Users

Adding, editing and deleting users is done through the "User Manager" utility. To install this utility:

  1. Open Control Center and navigate to Settings > System Updates and Extra Packages
  2. Click "Check for Available Packages" link and select the "Desktop Software Suite" option and hit the "Apply" button.

Once completed, login to Linux Desktop and access the "User Manager" utility through the System > Administration > Users and Groups tab.

Adding Users

AddUser.png

To add users:

  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. Enter the password as authentication is required to run system-config-users and click on Authenticate button.
  3. Click on the "Add User" button.
  4. Enter the "User Name". This is the "username" that will be required to login to a user account.
  5. Optional: Enter the "Full Name".
  6. Enter a "Password", then "Confirm Password".
    • Note: Users will be able to modify their passwords themselves once they are logged in.
  7. Ensure that the "Create home directory" and "Create a private group for the user" boxes are checked.
  8. The location of the home directory can be customized if desired. It is recommended to let the system automatically generate user and group IDs.


Editing User Properties

User-Properties.png

An administrator can change user names, passwords, account types and group membership for an individual user through User Manager.

To access "User Properties", either double-click the user name in the "Users" list or highlight the user name and click on "Properties".

Deleting Users

Delete-Users.png

To delete users:

  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. Click on the user to be deleted.
  3. Click on the "Delete" button.
  4. Choose whether to keep or remove the files from the user's home directory, or cancel the action, by clicking on the appropriate button.


Managing Groups

All users are members of one or more groups. When a new user ("user1") is created, a new group is also created with the same name ("user1"). For multiseat configurations, it makes sense for an administrator to create groups to simplify managing user privileges. For example, in a school setting, it would be useful to have a group for "teachers" and a group for "students".

Creating groups, adding users to groups, and deleting groups can all be done through the "User Manager" dialogue.

Creating Groups

Add-Group.png

To create a group:

  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. Click on the "Add Group" button.
  3. Enter a name for the group.
  4. Unless you are a high-level user, let the system assign a group number automatically.
  5. Click "OK"


Adding Users to Groups

Add-User-to-Group.png

To add a single user to several groups:

  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. In the "Users" tab, click on the entry for the user you wish to modify.
  3. Click the "Properties" button.
  4. Go to the "Groups" tab of the "User Properties" window.
  5. Add the user to one or more groups by clicking the the checkbox next to the group name.
  6. Click "OK"


To add several users to one group:

Add-Several-Users-to-Group.png
  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. In the "Groups" tab, click on the entry for the group you wish to modify.
  3. Click the "Properties" button.
  4. Go to the "Group Users" tab of the "Group Properties" window.
  5. Add one or more users to the group by clicking the the checkbox next to the user name.
  6. Click "OK" to complete the process


Deleting Groups

Delete-Group.png

To delete a group:

  1. Open the "User Manager" dialogue through System > Administration > Users and Groups.
  2. In the "Groups" tab, click on the entry for the group you wish to modify.
  3. Click on the "Delete" button.
  4. Confirm the action by clicking "Yes", or cancel by clicking "No".